Akwa Ibom state governor, Mr Governor Udom Emmanuel has begun the process of winding down his administration with the appointment of a 12-member transition committee to act as a bridge between the handing over and the taking over protocol between his administration and the next.

The Transition Committee members apart from handling the task of ensuring a seamless transition of government to the incoming administration, is also saddled with the responsibility of verifying all projects executed by the present administration.

The committee members were sworn in on Monday evening at the State Banquet Hall by the governor who also swore in seven new Permanent Secretaries into the State Civil Service with a charge on them to instill an effective and efficient service of integrity among workers.

According to the governor, the appointment of the permanent secretaries which is strictly based on merit should be seen as a call to serve diligently and also add value to the civil service and not a mere promotion in service.

He thanked the newly appointed permanent secretaries for accepting the onerous task and urged them to see themselves as ambassadors and work towards raising the bar of leadership which will encourage productivity and promote good working relationships with the subordinates in the service.

Related News

“This is one thing I promised Akwa Ibom people that appointment of Permanent Secretaries shall be totally on merit and not by mercy, let those that can do the work be given the opportunity. Permanent Secretary is not a promotion, it is an appointment on merit.

“On merit you know when you are graduating, it is usually based on character and learning, it is not just because you have a PhD. We must also watch your character and your relationship with your subordinates, how are you able to manage people, if we hear complaints it means you can’t manage people and you don’t possess the qualities of a leader, so we look at a lot of things’’.

Governor Emmanuel reiterated his commitments towards enhancing efficiency within Civil Service, noting that during his administration civil servants have been promoted on yearly basis, adding that before he exits office more permanent secretaries will be appointed into the service to fill vacant positions left by the ones who retired.

Addressing also chairmen of Boards and Commissions, Governor Emmanuel who described them as pillars in government, acknowledged their commitment particularly, Chairman, Akwa Ibom State Environmental Protection & Waste Management Agency (AKSEPWMA) Prince Akpan Ikim, for winning laurels for the state through his outstanding performance in keeping and making the state the cleanest in Nigeria for five consecutive years from 2018 through 2022, and tasked others to create an impact that will stand them out.
The newly appointed Permanent Secretaries are; Mfon Inuaesiet Edemekong ,Dr. Stephen Effiong, Atim Chelly Okoko, Iquo Okon Abia Esq., Uwem Sunday Andrew-Essien, Isaiah Robson Ntekim and Emaeyak Nyong Akpan as Auditor General for Local Government.

The Transition Committee which has April 1, 2023, as the deadline for the submission of its report, is made up of Mrs. Ekereobong Umoh -Chairman, Uko Udom SAN, Prof Augustine Umoh, Dr. Ini Adiakpan, Mrs. Nsemeke Daniel, Dr. Nathaniel Adiakpan, Mr Elijah Udoiyak, Mrs. Esther Inyang, Pastor Uwem Andrew-Essien, Mr. Isaiah Ntekim, Mr. Effiong Ekpenyong and Mrs. Bella Akpanya as members.