From Noah Ebije, Kaduna

The All Progressive Congress (APC) governorship candidate for Kaduna State, Senator Uba Sani, has been declared the winner of the state election held on Saturday, March 18.

Sani defeated his close rival, Mohammed Isah Ashiru of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with 730,002 votes to Ashiru’s 719,196 votes.

Declaring Sani as the winner, INEC Collation Officer Professor Lawal Sulaiman Bilbis said that the APC governorship candidate met all the electoral requirements to emerge winner.

Earlier, at a press conference on Monday, the Kaduna State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) urged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to declare its candidate, Mohammed Isah Ashiru as the winner of the governorship election conducted in the State.

The state Chairman of PDP, Felix Hassan Hyat, urged the INEC to declare the party’s candidate winner without further delay.