The Senate has confirmed four of the five nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari for confirmation as non-executive directors of the board of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The confirmed nominees were Ummu Jalingo, Justitia Odinakachukwu, Mike Obadan and Adeola Adetunji.

It, however, rejected Abdu Abubakar, as senators who screened him said they were dissatisfied with his responses to their questions.

President Muhammadu Buhari had sent the five names to the Senate in April.

The confirmation followed the adoption of the reports by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions which screened the nominees, on Wednesday.

The chairman of the committee, Rafiu Adebayo (APC, Kwara South), who read out the report to the Senate, described the four confirmed nominees as “very resourceful, diligent, articulate, competent. He said the confirmed nominees “will add the needed value to the central bank and they answered questions satisfactorily.”

Related News

“The nominees have vast knowledge of the CBN act. They have been cleared by CCB and relevant security agency,” he added.

Mr. Ibrahim explained that Abdu Abubakar was not confirmed because “he failed the committee’s integrity test.”

“One of the nominees, Dr. Abdu Abubakar failed the integrity test designed by the committee to assess (him); his response to questions lacked transparancy and not worthy to appointed into a regulatory agency by the CBN,” he said.

After the presentation of the report by Ibrahim, Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, said the issues surrounding the non-confirmation of Mr. Abubakar should be revisited by the committee.