Babajide Salako has been elected president and chairman-in-council of the Chartered Institute of Professional Printers of Nigeria (CIPPON).

Salako and 14 others were declared elected into the council by the Electoral Committee Chairman, Abiodun Oluwadare, of the Department of Forestry, University of Ibadan at the recently concluded election into the governing council of the institute held at the Council of Chiefs Chambers, Agodi Secretariat, Ibadan, Oyo State, at the weekend.

The CIPPON, enacted by Act 24 of 2007, is charged with the duty of regulating, controlling and managing the affairs of printing and related matters in Nigeria.

Speaking after the election, Salako promised to build on the achievements of his predecessor, Malomo Olugbemi, by using the instruments of the institute to better the lots of members at “this very difficult time.” He further said he will advocate government’s intervention and support for the industry

He promised to continue to work with The Strategic Framework document of the institute that will transform the industry into a business ecosystem where everyone will co-exist in unity, adding that all members of CIPPON should contribute their quota to build a virile association.

Related News

“To further assure you, we promise to uphold high moral standards, honesty, integrity and maintain mutual respect for people’s views,” Salako said.

At the election which saw Salako emerging president, Ademuyiwa Oluwole was elected the 1st vice president; Christopher Okafor 2nd vice president while Danladi Suleiman was elected 3rd vice president.

Messrs Balarabe Abdulsalam and Jerry Uka were elected secretary and assistant secretary respectively.

Others elected council members are Messrs Oyeku Johnathan, Fadile Paul, Jude Ogar, Adeaga Rotimi, Aderemi Olalere, Adebo Destiny and Princewill Joseph. Jidda Yusuf and Joseph Atanda also made the list of the national executive elected at the Council of Chiefs Chambers, Agodi Secretariat, Ibadan.