From Ndubuisi Orji, Abuja

A bill seeking to create an additional state, to be known as Orlu State, with capital in Orlu, has been introduced in the House of Representatives.

The bill, which is seeking to alter the 1999 Constitution ( as amended) is sponsored by the member representing Ideato North/ Ideato South Federal Constituency, Ikenga Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere, and 15 others is currently awaiting second reading.

If the bill is eventually passed, it would bring the number of states in the South East to six and states in the country to 37.

The proposed legislation, which was made available to journalists, on Thursday, indicated that the proposed state will be carved out from Imo, Abia and Anambra.

Local Government Areas that will form part of the proposed state include Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, Njaba, Nkwerre, Nwangele and Isu. Others are Oguta, Ohaji Egbema, Onuimo, Ihiala, Uga, Ihiala, Uli, Ozubulu, Akokwa, Arondizuogu, Umuchu, Umunze, Umuaku.

Also to be included are New Ideato North, Nwabosi West, Nwabosi East, Owerre Nkworji, Alaoma, Amaifeke, Owerrebiri Umuowa.

Ugochinyere told journalists that if the proposed state is created Ideato will emerge as a senatorial district.

He appealed to his colleagues at the National Assembly for support to ensure that the bill scales through second reading.


VERIFIED: Nigerians (home & diaspora) can now be paid in US Dollars. Earn up to $17,000 (₦27 million) with premium domains. Click here to start