Wole Balogun, Ado-Ekiti

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, Senate President Bukola Saraki and Governor of Gombe State, Ibrahim Dankwambo will, on Sunday, be appreciated for rendering selfless and laudable service to Nigerians in different capacities as public servants and entrepreneurs.

Also to be appreciated are senators Ben Bruce and Sheu Sani, among others, particularly from the Southern part of the country.

A Lagos-based magazine, famed for rewarding major Nigerian public servants and figures, Hall of Grace Magazine (HOG), is organising the award presentation for the distinguished Nigerians.

HOG has a former Minister of Information, Chief Alex Akinyele, as chief custodian while Delta State born, Entrepreneur, PR and Media Guru, Rupert Ojenuwa, as its Executive Officer.

Distinguished Nigerians who have received the HOG awards for meritorious public service, included Former Governors Babatunde Raji Fashola, now Minister of Works, Power and Housing, current Governor of Kwara Ahmed , Special Adviser to President Mohammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, and renowned business guru and foremost entrepreneur in Africa, Aliko Dangote among others.

In a statement, on Sunday, by Ojenuwa, he explained the reasons for garlanding the recipients with the honour. He said: “The HoG Awards as you may know is tied, every year to a national concern for which it hopes to lend weight to, either by honoring a Nigerian who has done well in such an aspect or by having a lecture to further enlighten Nigerians.

“However, there is a recurrent theme for every year and that is DEMOCRACY. This year, in addition to honoring people who have helped deliver democratic dividends, the HoG Awards focuses on Employment and Restructuring Call’ Ojenuwa said.

Stating the reasons further, he said: “The Board of the HoG Awards chose to honor Atiku Abubakar for his role in job creation in Nigeria. We believe that job creation must not rest in the hands of the government alone, we believe that private citizens should be encouraged to create jobs. Atiku Abubakar has created and continues to create jobs for Nigerians.

Related News

“You know that job creation has a ripple effect, by creating jobs, the former Vice President has contributed to reduction in crimes.

“We also use this medium to commend every Nigerian who is in the business of job creation, as well as call on the political class to use their resources to create jobs for Nigerians. If this is done, unemployment will nose dive.

“Another reason for which Abubakar is honored is because of his constant restructuring call. HoG, Iike several well-meaning Nigerians believe that restructuring is the way to go.

“We also commend the 8th Senate under the leadership of Bukola Saraki. This Senate has done creditably well. The number of bills and motions by the Senate has been unprecedented.

“But noteworthy is the several interventions in national issues. The oversight functions is commendable and the level of proactivity is high. If for anything, the leadership of the Senate has refused to rubber stamp but has instead lived up to its responsibility of checking excesses and offering valuable advice to the Executive and this is why we have chosen a few Senators who have distinguished themselves led by the Senate President Bukola Saraki himself. Others are Sen. Ben Bruce and Shehu Sani.

In the area of delivery of Democratic Dividends, the Gombe State governor, Dr. Hassan Dankwambo, has been unprecedented in his strides. He has literarily transformed Gombe with strides in infrastructure.

“In education, he has established basic schools, colleges and undertaken scholarship programs. In health and other sectors, Dankwambo has also proven his worth.”

Speaking about the HOG awards, Ojenuwa said, “The HoG Awards was inaugurated 9 years ago to serve as a celebration platform for deserving Nigerians. With a Board consisting of Nigerians of proven track record with integrity, the Award seeks to honuor only the bests who have distinguished themselves and are serving as role models in their different fields of endeavor, hence it has honored several notable Nigerians.

The 8th annual awards holds on the 24th of June at the Summit Center in Ikeja, Lagos.”