From Molly Kilete, Abuja

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the promotion of Assistant Inspector General (AIG) of Police, Dasuki Galadanci, in charge of Zone 12, Bauchi, as a Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Police to represent the North West Geopolitical zone of the country. He will replace DIG Ibrahim Sani Ka’oje, who is expected to retire on February 2.

The commission also approved the promotion of 1,897 senior police officers to their next substantive ranks. Of these figures, the commission elevated 14 commissioners of police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police. However, one of the commissioners for promotion to AIG was stepped down to enable the commission to review the pending disciplinary matters against the officer, which was sent to the commission by the Nigeria Police Force.

The newly promoted AIGs are; Yetunde O. Longe, CP Eastern Ports, Port Harcourt; Haruna Gabriel Garba, CP Federal Capital Territory; Tajudeen Akinwale Abass, CP Delta State; Rex Dundun, CP General Investigation, FCID Annex Kaduna;  Durosinmi Olatoye, CP Akwa Ibom State; Afolabi Babatola Adeniyi, CP Adamawa State; Abiodun Oladimeji Asabi, CP Ondo State; CP Julius Alawari Okoro; CP Plateau State; George Chijioke Chuku, CP Benue State; Paul Alifa Omata, CP K9 Force Headquarters; Yusuf Adesina Akeem, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters; Bzigu Yakabu kwazhi Dali, CP Osun State; Idris Nagoyo, Police Mounted troop Squadron and CP Ogundare Dare Emmanuel, CP Ekiti State.

The commission also promoted 21 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioners; 20 Assistant Commissioners to Deputy Commissioners; 109 Chief Superintendents to Assistant Commissioners, and 184 Superintendents to Chief Superintendents. It also approved the promotion of 1,549 Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents.

The commission’s Chairman, Solomon Arase, who presided over the management meeting, gave anticipatory approval for the appointment of one DIG and promotion of 1,897 senior police officers recommended to the commission by the Inspector General of Police.

The 14 commissioners of police and 21 deputy commissioners appeared before the management of the commission for an interactive promotion interview, a condition precedent for their elevation to the next ranks. Dr. Arase charged the officers to quickly settle down to their new ranks and go forth and win the war against banditry, kidnapping and violent crimes in the country.

He reminded the officers that the nation is facing an avoidable unprecedented wave of criminal assaults on all fronts, adding that the commission was uncomfortable with the trend of events.

The PSC chairman enjoined the officers to settle down and map their various areas of responsibility by being conversant with trends and patterns of crimes in their domain, as well as engage in predictive policing to mitigate the current criminal disorders by criminal gangs now marauding across the length and breadth of the country.

Related News

As senior officers, he said they must be held responsible for any relapse in the security apparatus of the nation, adding that they must see their new ranks as a call to greater dedication to the service of their fatherland.

“These promotions should further ignite the indomitable fighting spirit of the officers and men”, he admonished the newly promoted officers.

The deputy commissioners promoted to the next rank of substantive commissioners are; Olanrewaju Peter Ogunlowo, Assistant Chief of Mission in Somalia; Mohammed Dahiru, DCP State CID Adamawa; Sunday Olukayode, DCP Operations, Plateau State; Peter Ukachi Opara, DCP Admin, Imo State; Illiyasu Yahaya Kwarbai, DCP Investigation, Zonal Command, Bauchi; Bello Mohammed Sani, DCP Projects Monitoring, IGP Secretariat; Mohammed Umar Abba, DCP State CID, Delta Command; Dankombo Faling Morris, DCP Ops Adamawa Command; Bello Shehu, National Defence College; Ibrahim Balarabe Maikaba; DCP Zonal CID, Kano; Ahmed Musa, DCP State CID, FCT Cmd; Olohundare Moshood Jimoh, former Force Public Relations Officer and currently DCP, General Investigation Unit, FCID Annex, Gombe; Simeon Udofia Akpanudom, DCP Ops, Cross Rivers State Command; Olugbemiga Emmanuel Adesina, DCP Benue State Command and David Iloyanomon, DCP Administration, Anambra Command.

Others are: Haruna Olufemi, DCP, Force Intelligence Bureau; Rose Chollom Dung, DCP, Administration, Bauchi Command; Obono Nnaghe Itam, DCP Operations Zone 6, Calabar; Adedamola Waheed Ayilara, DCP, FCID Panti, Lagos; Abel Jangnap Miri Zwalchir, DCP, ICT Administration, Force Headquarters, and Ifeanyi Uka DCP/second in Command, Works, Force Headquarters Abuja.

The 20 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners, include;  Gerald Ngoziabata, Nigerian Army Resource Centre; Okenla Oluseyi ACP DFA, Cooperatives, Lagos; Olubunmi Fakeye, ACP Police College Ikeja; Ayodeji Adelogagunduro, Area Commander  Ayetoro, Ogun State; Samuel Dalti Dang of Armament Section, Force Headquarters.

Some of the CSPs promoted to Assistant Commissioners are; Casmir Ihiezu, Lagos Command; Charity Belema Megbope, Ogun Command; Gamaliel Alex, Rivers State Command ; Sani Ahmed, DPO Awada Anambra State; Cecilia Aniedy Udo, DPO Mini Okoro, Port Harcourt; CSP Dalapo Badmos, CSP Administration Provost Marshal Force Headquarters; Adamu Ahmadu, Commander C41 Intelligence Unit, Rivers State Command; CSP Collins Eruogu, former Commanding Officer 33PMF and presently Commander, AKS/RRS Anambra State Command; CSP Israel Effiong  Ukpong 2/ic 19PMF Port Harcourt; CSP Linus Uche Nwaiwu, Police Training School, Nekede,  Imo State; CSP Onoh Charles, CSP Administration ICT, Force Headquarters; CSP Abubakar Abdulkarim, DPO Kubwa FCT; CSP Taiwo Oladipupo Akingbehin, Commander, EOD, Force Headquarters Annex, Ikeja; CSP Moses Odu Osor, Zone 7 Abuja; CSP Garba Bala, DPO Dawakin, FCT; CSP Benjamin Igometi and CSP Chinna Joe-Iruobe of the Veterinary Section, Force Headquarters.

Some of the 184 officers promoted to CSP from the rank of SPs are; Victor Olowola; Ibrahim Abdullahi; Hassiani Audu; Stephen Bob Samuel; Mohammed Alhaji; Onukafor Kingsley Nkuma, ADC to the Governor of Anambra State; Fabian Iloabanafor, Commander, CP Monitoring and Surveillance team, Ebonyi State Command; Luka Paul Sambo, DPO New Benin, Benin City, Edo State and Agboni Jacob Christopher, 54 PMF, Onitsha.

The approval has been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police for implementation.