From Oluseye Ojo, Ibadan
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday presented certificates of return to Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, who was re-elected for a term in office on Saturday March 18, 2023.
The deputy governor of the state,
Abdulroheem Bayo Lawal, as well as the 32 Oyo State House of Assembly members-elect were also presented their Certificates of Return by INEC.
The certificates of return were presented to them by INEC’s  National Commissioner in charge of Oyo and Lagos States, Mr. Sam Olumekun, at the International Conference Centre, University of Ibadan.
Speaking shortly after receiving the Certificate of Return, Makinde said: “Today is not a day for long speeches but a day to thank the Almighty God on behalf of all the elected officials in Oyo State.
“I want to use this opportunity to say that elections, electioneering campaigns are over now. No more abuses and all that, and it is time for us to face the task of governance and building a state that will be an envy for all the states in Nigeria.
“This is the time for us to redouble our efforts towards taking our people from poverty to prosperity. This is a day to reflect on the decision of the people of Oyo State. It is a day to acknowledge all the people who have contributed one way or another to making today a success.
“I want to especially appreciate the Resident Electoral Commissioner and his team, because the Oyo State election is a reference point for elections right across the country. My co-contestants have congratulated me, and I received a call personally from my brother, Bayo Adelabu, and we got a notice from Senator Teslim Folarin as well. That is the spirit in Oyo State.
“Let me finally say thank you to my leaders and elders.”
Earlier, the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Oyo State, Dr. Adeniran Tella, said: “The electoral event is specifically designed for the presentation of certificates of return to the governor-elect, deputy governor-elect and 32 elected members of the Oyo State House of Assembly, for which the election took place on March 18 in the Pacesetter State.”