From Romanus Ugwu, Abuja

The All Progressives Congress (APC), in collaboration with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has cleared no fewer than 171,932 party members to participate in the Ondo State governorship primary election this weekend.

National Organising Secretary of the party, Suleiman Argungu, made the disclosure during the inauguration of the Primary Election and Primary Appeal Committees at the party’s secretariat, Abuja yesterday.

Governor Usman Ododo of Kogi is chairman of the primary election committee and Senator Ovie Omo-Agege is secretary.

The committee is expected to conduct a direct primary election in the state’s 18 local government areas to pick the party’s governorship candidate for the Nov. 16, governorship election.

The five-member Primary Election Appeals Committee is headed by a former Governor of Bauchi State, Mohammed Abubakar.

He announced that the Dome Event International Centre, Akure, would be the venue for the collation of the result for the primary election.

Speaking during the inauguration, National Chairman, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, assured party’s members in Ondo State of adequate security during the April 20 governorship primary election

“We are reaching the climax of the various activities lined up for the state’s election, but this one, is the most important because from it, the party’s governorship candidate will be produced.

Related News

“We don’t expect 100 per cent peace or perfection during the exercise, but we expect you to be vigilant.

“We have contacted relevant security operatives to ensure peace and security during the exercise,” Ganduje said.

The APC national chairman added that the party’s leadership would provide the appeal committee all necessary data and documents to carry out its assignments.

Ododo, who was represented by his Deputy, Joel Salifu, at the event, assured that the committee would deliver on its mandate.

“I will collaborate with all committee members to provide the best governorship candidate for Ondo State,” he said.

The Kogi governor promised that the committee would work and abide by the party’s constitution and the electoral guidelines.

Other members of the governorship primary election committee are Senator Lekan Mustapha, Adefunmilayo Tejuoso, Chief Meg Duru, a former Oyo Deputy Governor, Iyiola Oladokun; and Dr Sani Danjuma.

The five-member Mohammed Abubakar Appeal Committee has Chief Obiocha Israel as Secretary while other members are Jamilu Isiyiaka Gwamna, Mr Patrick Obahiagbon and Chief Onyeka Okafor.