From Juliana Taiwo-Obalonye, Abuja

A 37-member Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage will be inaugurated by the Federal Government, on Tuesday and its mandate will be to suggest a new national minimum wage for the nation.

The inauguration is scheduled to hold at the Council Chamber, Presidential Villa, State House, Abuja.

In statement issued by the Director of Information, Segun Imohiosen for the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the inauguration followed approval by President Bola Tinubu.

The Committee under the Chairmanship of former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Bukar Aji, cuts across Federal Government, State Government, Private Sector and the Organised Labour.

Members of the committee from the Federal Government include: Minister of State, Labour and Employment (Representing Hon. Minister of Labour and Employment); Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of Finance & Coordinating Minister of the Economy; Mr. Wale Edun, Minister of Budget Economic Planning; Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Folashade Yemi-Esan, Permanent Secretary, General Services Office (GSO) OSGF, Maurice Mbaeri, and Chairman/CEO, National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC) – Member/Secretary, Ekpo Nta.

Members from the State Government, include: Mohammed Bago, Governor, Niger State- representative from North Central; Bala Mohammed, Governor Bauchi State- representative from North East; Umar Radda, Governor Katsina State- representative from North West; Charles Soludo, Governor, Anambra State- representative from the South East; Ademola Adeleke, Governor, Osun State- representative from South West; Otu Edet, Governor, Cross River State- representative from South South.

Related News

From the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA)- Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, Director-General, NECA; Chuma Nwankwo; Thompson Akpabio with also members from the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) include Michael Olawale-Cole, National President; Ahmed Rabiu, National Vice President and Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), National Life President.

The membership from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) are Abdulrashid Yerima, President and Chairman of Council; Theophilus Okwuchukwu, Private Sector representative; Muhammed Bello, Zonal Vice President, North West and also from the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) are: Grace Omo-Lamai, Human Resource Director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, Director-General, MAN; Ada Chukwudozie, Managing Director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

From the organised labour, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) Joe Ajaero, President, NLC; Emmanuel Ugboaja; Adeyanju Adewale; Ambali Olatunji; Benjamin Anthony and Theophilius Ndukuba.

Also, membership from the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) include, Festus Osifo, President, TUC; Tommy Okon, Deputy President I, TUC; Kayode Alakija, Deputy President II; Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III; Nuhu Toro, Secretary-General and Hafusatu Shuaib, Chairperson Women Commission.

“Accordingly, members are advised to be early to process their clearance at the Security Gate and should be seated at the Council Chamber by 11.30 am.

“In addition, a shuttle bus will be available at the Pilot Gate to convey members to the venue.

In addition, members of the Committee are to contact the Head of the Secretariat, Mr. Chiadi Adighiogu, Director (Compensation) in the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission for information,” the statement read.