Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) President, Mr Yakubu Maikyau, fiery human rights activist Mr Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa, and justice reform advocate Mr Emeka Nwadioke have been listed among Nigeria’s top 100 legal personalities.

The honorees were named among the “Top 100 exceptional and outstanding Nigerian legal personalities with significant contributions to legal education and practice.”

Other honorees include former Lagos State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Adeniji Kazeem, SAN; Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) prosecutor, Dr Wahab Shittu, SAN; former NBA General Secretary, Mr Emeka Obegolu, SAN; leading chartered arbitrator, Mrs. Dorothy Ufot SAN, and acclaimed tax expert and University of Lagos (UNILAG) teacher, Prof. Abiola Sanni, SAN.

Also listed among the Top 100 Legal Personalities are Dr. Kayode Ajulo, SAN; Mrs. Folashade Alli, SAN; Mr Adeyinka Kotoye, SAN; Prof Ukooh Ikoni (Benue State University); Prof Mojeeb Alabi (Osun State University); Prof. Omoniyi Akinola (Redeemer’s University), and Prof Nimah Abdulraheem (University of Ilorin).

Related News

Unveiling the honorees at the weekend, the organisers, Legal Eagles Initiatives and LMT Academy, stated that the awards are “based on proven track record of excellence and performance.”

The organisers noted that the awards were aimed at “celebrating hard work and rewarding consistency,” adding that “This Award is a product of our organisational commitment to rewarding hard work and promoting excellence. It seeks to honour personalities and institutions who have distinguished themselves and have made measurable impact within and outside the legal profession under the year in review.

“Since the maiden edition which was held in 2021, the LIFIN Excellence Awards has earned the reputation of being one of the most prestigious Award within the legal industry and beyond. Here’s an opportunity to recognise and celebrate distinguished personalities whose immeasurable achievements inspire hope.”

Voting for the awards commenced on December 26, 2023 and ended on December 29, 2023 while the honorees were announced the next day.