From Okey Sampson, Umuahia

Abia State governor, Okezie Ikpeazu has approved the appointment of Transition Committee Chairmen and Deputies for the 17 Local Government Areas of the State.

Also appointed by the governor are Secretaries to the Council areas of the state.

This is even as the Abia State Independent Electorial Commission (ASBIE) has announced timetable for the conduct of local government election in the state.

A statement by Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Chris Ezem gave names of the Council chairman as

Stanley Ogbonna, Aba North; Chima Mbama, Aba South; Daniel Kalu, Arochukwu; Ukwu Rocks Emma, Bende; Williams Ukatu Chimechefulam, Ikwuano and Chinedu Ugoala, Isiala Ngwa North.

Others are, Prince Enyioma Okpanku, Isiala Ngwa South; Ndubuisi Paschal Ukeje, Isiukwuato; George Ubani, Obingwa; James O. Ndukwe, Ohafia; Ogumka Iheanacho, Osisioma and Robinson Ndukwe, Ugwunagbo.

The rest are Godson Umunna Nwulu, Ukwa East; John Ajuzieogu, Ukwa West;

Godson Nwankwo-, Umuahia North; Nnachebe Uhiara, Umuahia South and George Offor, Umunneochi.

Related News

According to the statement, their deputies include Isdore Egejuru, Daniel Okereke, Chief Felix Ukpabi, John Mark, Imo Buchi Stephen, Uba Anyanwu, and Chimeremeze Nwankwo. 

Also on the list are Demian Maduike, Enyinnaya Lazarus, Ikechukwu Iroha, Uchenna Jumbo, and Nwandu Chiemela Godwin.

Others are Iheanyi Jonathan Nnah, Chikodi Ogbonna, Okechi Utah, Nnamdi Balaogu and Ken Onochie.

The names of the TC Chairmen  and their Deputies the statement said has been forwarded to Abia State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The governor, according to the SSG has equally approved the appointment of secretaries to the 17 Council areas in the state.

In another development, ABSIEC has released the timetable for the 2023 Local Government Election in the State.

The Chairman, Prof. Mkpa Agu Mkpa who disclosed this during stakeholders meeting with Chairmen and Representatives of various Political Parties in the State, fixed the date for April 28.

Prof Mkpa said collection of forms for the election by political parties will commence from Wednesday, February 15 to Wednesday 28, while Party primaries will hold between February 10 to March 9, 2023.

He said screening of candidates by the Commission will be from March 20-27, 2023, while campaign by political parties will commence on March 28.