•Screens, confirms 9 commissioner-nominees

From TONY JOHN, Port Harcourt


Rivers State House of Assembly has warned that if staff of Government House, Port Harcourt, continue to exhibit discourteous behaviour towards mails emanating from the lawmakers, the House will stop to receive correspondence from the Governor, Siminalayi Fubara.

Speaker of the House, Martin Amaewhule, stated this at the 92nd legislative sitting on Wednesday, while commenting on the work relationship between the Rivers State House of Assembly and Government House.

Amaewhule condemned in strong terms the recalcitrant and discourteous behaviour of staff of Government House towards receiving mails emanating from the Rivers State House of Assembly.

He warned that if such spiteful behaviour continues, the House will cease to receive correspondence from the Governor, Fubara.

Related News

He added that Resolutions of the House are religiously transmitted to the office of the governor; but, staff of Government House often decline to receive such resolutions.

Meanwhile, the House has screened and confirmed the nomination of Professor Zacchaeus Adangor, Jacobson Nbina, Gift Worlu, Mrs. Inimefien Aguma, Chukwuemeka Woke, Prof. Chinedu Mmom, Dakorinama Kelly-George, Isaac Kamalu and Mr. Ben Chioma as commissioners and members of the Rivers State Executive Council.

The screening and confirmation were sequel to a letter read on the floor of the House, which was forwarded to the House by the Governor Fubara, praying the House to screen and confirm the nominees, pursuant to Section 192 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The House accordingly screened and confirmed all the nominees.

The nine commissioner-nominees tendered their resignations at the peak of political crisis between the governor and his predecessor, Nyesom Wike, Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja.

It was part of the agreement by Presidential Peace Proclamation (PPP) to finding lasting peace in Rivers State.