Gov. Kashim Shettima of Borno on Monday swore in 21 commissioners to serve as members of the ‘state’s Executive Council to complete his second term in office.

The swearing in came after the names of the 21 nominees were approved by the state’s
House of Assembly.

It would be recalled that the state’s EXCO was dissolved in October to enable some of the members to contest political party primary elections.

Three of the former cabinet members had picked the All Progressives Congress (APC) tickets to contest various elective positions.

READ ALSO ASUU strike comprehensive, indefinite – president

Prof. Babagana Zulum, emerged the party’s governorship flag bearer, while Haruna Mshelia and Zainab Gimba were contesting for the Biu-Hawul and Bama-Ngala Federal Constituency elections.

Gov. Shettima said that the appointment of the commissioners was based on merit
in view of their experiences, selfless service and contributions to the development of the state.

Related News

He urged them to work to justify the confidence reposed in them, stressing that “your appointment is based on merit; considering the tremendous contributions you made for the development of the state..

“You should be dedicated to duties, so that government could benefit from your expertise to uplift the living standard of the citizenry.”

Shettima tasked the commissioners to ensure the completion of ongoing projects under their ministries before the end of their tenure in office.

Justice Fadawu Umar, the acting Chief Judge of the state, administered the oath of office to the appointed commissioners.

The new commissioners are: Abdulrahman Allbdulkarim; Abubakar Abba-Lawan, Adamu Lawan, Babagana Tijjani Banki, Mustapha Fannarembe, Inna Galadima, Ali Abacha and Mohammed Kauji.

Others were Toma Rangina; Salisu Kwayabura, Bello Ayuba, Yarima Saleh, Yuguda Saleh, Musa kubo, Sunday Gadzama, Kaka-Shehu Lawan, Yarima Kareto, Abubakar Hassan, Sugun Mai-Mele, Fanta Babashehu and Muhammed Bulama.

Kakashehu Lawan, former Commissioner of Justice, commended Shettima and the legislators for giving them the opportunity to serve the people.