From Femi Folaranmi, Yenagoa

Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the eight local government areas of Bayelsa State elected during the April 6 Bayelsa Local Government elections have received certificates of return from the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission.

BYSIEC at the end of the polls had declared Target Segibo(Southern Ijaw), David Alagoa, ( Nembe), Lucky Febo, ( Brass), Golden Jeremiah, ( Ogbia), Isaac Onniye( Ekeremor), Lelei Tariye, ( Kolokuma/ Opokuma), Mrs Alice Allen Tangi( Sagbama) and Bulodisiye Ndiwari ( Yenagoa) as returned elected.

At the ceremony held at the Ernest Ikoli Press Center of the Nigeria Union of Journalists Secretariat in Yenagoa, BYSIEC Chairman, Dr Peter Singabele congratulated the elected Council officials for their victory at the Polls.

Singabele while presenting the certificate of return, Chairman of the Bayelsa State commended the elected officials over their success in the election, urging them to deliver the dividends of democracy to the people at the grassroots.

Related News

“This is a brief ceremony but very important. This is the last step on the part of BYSIEC in the 2024 elections. When you are eventually sworn-in, you can now operate as duly elected local government chairmen and that is the third tier of government’’.


In a response on behalf of other elected Chairmen and Vice Chairmen, Chairman-elect of Yenagoa Local Government Council, Mr. Bulodisiye Ndiwari thanked Governor Douye Diri and the Deputy Governor, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo and other stakeholders and supporters for their support, pledging to justify the confidence reposed in them by improving the quality of lives of the people in the various Council areas.