By Rasaq Oboirien

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF) has announced that the National Division 1 and 2 Leagues will start on June 3.

The Technical Representative of NVBF, Chief Martin Melandi said the league takes place at the Owerri Stadium in Imo state from June 3 to 13, 2023.

Sixteen clubs will be jostling for the six available slots in Nigeria Volleyball Premier/Division 1 Leagues in the men and women’s categories.

Chief Melandi revealed that amended rules and relations agreed at the last stakeholders meeting in 2022, will be adopted as a legal document binding on all clubs in the 2023 season.

Related News

The Former International Referee who doubles as the Technical Director, NVBF said the deadline for registration of the team is  May 30, 2023 (Tuesday) adding teams who fail to register risks sanctions to be decided by the League Management Committee.

He said The League Management Committee is happy to announce that this year’s National Division 1 and 2 Leagues will be held in Owerri, Imo State. The decision of Imo state to host the leagues was because they met up to the requirements of the Federation.”

Men’s teams competing in the National Division 1 are; Nigeria Correctional Service, Kwara United, UCEM of Enugu, Joda VC of Bauchi, Katsina United, Caliphate Spikers of Sokoto, Chief of Naval Staff (CNS) Spikers and G-Rank of Kachia.

While Olalomi Royal VC, Bayonet Spikers of Jaji, Yelwa Spikers of Bauchi, and All New Comers battle in the women’s category.

Four men’s team battles in the Division 2 league include; Adamawa Spikers, Bayonet Spikers of Jaji, Sword VC of Benue, and All Newcomers.