The Sun News

2 days to go: Music superstar, Phyno, set to thrill guests at The Sun Awards

Music sensation, Phyno, set to thrill guests at The Sun Awards

Music crooner and rave of the moment in the Nigerian entertainment industry, Azubuike  Nelson, popularly known as Phyno,  with the sensational and evergreen Veentage Band, among other artistes, will be on hand to thrill guests at The Sun Awards this weekend.

The Sun Awards ceremony is billed for Saturday, February 18, 2017 at the Expo Centre of Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. Eighteen Nigerians would be honoured with various awards, for their outstanding performance in respective endeavours.

Former Secretary General of the Commonwealth, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, will be the chairman of the ceremony.

Revealing plans for the entertainment component of The Sun Awards, Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief, The Sun Publishing Limited, Mr. Eric Osagie, said apart from Phyno and Veentage Band, other sensational acts have been lined up to entertain guests.

According to him, it will be a night of fun, as music icons and the band enlisted have promised to wow the guests.

“It will be an evening of fun. Aware that music and entertainment make the world go round, we have selected iconic musicians, a popular band and comedians who will make our guests relax and enjoy the awards. With what we have lined up, there will be no dull moment throughout the award ceremony,” Osagie said.

Meanwhile, prominent individuals and award recipients have confirmed their attendance of The Sun Awards.

Already, serving ministers, ex-ministers and members of the National Assembly have indicated interest to attend the event.

Also, captains of industries, bank chief executives, top professionals, including Nollywood stars, and members of the diplomatic corps are ready for the events.

Among governors, who have confirmed their attendance are: Senator Ibikunle Amosun, governor of Ogun State, who is The Sun Man of the Year 2016; Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State (Governor of the Year) and Governor Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina State (Courage in Leadership award winner), among others.

Also expected is Hon Yakubu Dogara, Speaker, House of Representatives, who won the Political Icon award; former governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio; ex-Governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi.

Award winners, who have also confirmed their attendance are Prof Anya O. Anya; Chief Razak Okoya; Chief Nike Akande and Dr. Kalu Idika Kalu (Lifetime Achievement award winners) as well as Dr. Cosmas Maduka (Investor of the Year), among others.

Other distinguished awardees at this year’s occasion include Sir Tony Ezenna (Manufacturer of the Year); Dr. Stella Okoli, CEO, Emzor Pharmaceutical (Business Personality of the Year);  Alhaji Abubakar Balarabe Musa (Lifetime Achievement); Alhaji Tajudeen Owoyemi, Chairman, Avalon Intercontinental Limited (Hospitality Firm of the Year); Rita Dominic (Nollywood Personality of the Year); the late Lt Col Mohammed Abu Ali (Nigerian Hero) and Azubuike Nelson (Phyno) & Olamide Adedeji (Creative Personalities of the Year).


About author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


June 2018
« May    


Take advantage of our impressive statistics, advertise your brands and products on this site. Get in touch. For print/online adverts inquires: 09070051404


Online Editor: Aderonke Bello
Telephone: 08189015120
Email:  [email protected]